MMHA Awards (Manitoulin Minor Hockey)

PrintMMHA Awards
Click here for MMHA Award Nomination Form (PDF)


This award will be presented to someone other than a player that has made an outstanding
contribution to hockey on Manitoulin Island. This person has gone above and beyond the call of
duty to promote and represent hockey on our island.

Randy Thibault was a long standing member of Manitoulin Minor and Western Manitoulin Minor
Hockey Associations. Randy was a coach, a mentor, an executive member and most
importantly had a true passion for hockey. Randy’s knowledge and commitment to the game of
hockey on our island was and still is second to none. Randy’s calm, cool nature made him
easy to be around and very easy to approach regarding any hockey issue. Randy’s ultimate
goal was to see kids play and enjoy hockey on Manitoulin Island just like he did.

April 15th of each year is the deadline for receipt of nominations for the Randy Thibault
Memorial award.

Randy Thibault Memorial Award Recipients

2022 - Ron Cooper
2023 - Adam Smith


This award is for an official who has played a key role in the Officiating Program on Manitoulin
Island. This person would be someone who has been involved with assigning, instruction,
administration and supervising young officials. This person would be someone who would be
greatly missed if they were no longer involved.

Jack Clark was instrumental in recruiting officials in Gore Bay as well as being their Referee in
Chief. Jack also supervised and trained young officials on and off the ice. Jack is also a great
volunteer in the community of Gore Bay.

April 15th of each year is the deadline for receipt of nominations for the Jack Clark, Most
Deserving Official award.

Jack Clark Most Deserving Official Award Recipients

2022 - Mike Payette
2023 - Daryl Leighton